Ramsey Trips Himself, But Wenger Says Penalty
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger felt his side should have had a penalty when Aaron Ramsey tripped over his own foot in today's FA Cup Third Round tie.
Wenger denied that the former Cardiff City loanee tripped over himself, insisting he fell due to a foul from Dwight Tiendalli. Referee Howard Webb ignored claims for a spot kick, one of the few decent decisions he made right in the game.
"It was one and the referee saw it,"
"You know why he didn`t give it?
"Because he thought the guy had not done it on purpose, [which] I think as well.
"It was accidental but he [Ramsey] didn`t trip himself.
"He was caught clearly by the leg of the Swansea player. I don`t know who it was.
"He had a hesitation, the referee, and in the end he didn`t give it. "
"The problem is we could have had a penalty but that can happen, but after [we could have] gone down to 10 men and down 1-0 as well. Overall, we have shown good mental quality."
It was a surprise in itself that Wenger actually saw this incident, but of course he did, as it wasn't one of his own players conceding a penalty.
Join Vital Swansea
To visit the Vital Swansea message board, click here.
This website is your website and we are looking for people to help run the site. Do you go to most of the games and have an opinion? Why not write a match report? Perhaps you are a budding journalist or even just someone who is very opinionated? Well why not join our team? If this interests you please contact Vital Swansea
Win FREE pizza with Vital Football!
Select your team and get 50% off if they score twice.